Moving! (And strawberry rhubarb pie…)

We moved into our first house!

From a tiny apartment to an even smaller house, Josh and I decided to move across town for a few reasons.

First, we’ve been wanting something cheaper for a while, as we are saving to go to seminary and trying to get out of debt.

Second, the thought of being in a little house with a yard instead of an apartment with no yard was very appealing.

Third, we have a good relationship with the landlord and already know our neighbors very well.

Sounds like the perfect situation, right? Well, everything has been perfect except for the timing. For some reason, the past week has been the busiest week we’ve had in a while. There has been something important going on almost every single night, and this weekend we celebrated the marriage of two good friends from college. With all the extra events happening, Josh and I have been moving what we can when we can. Last Sunday night Josh and I spent all afternoon putting our belongings in boxes and transporting them across town. Monday night we gathered some friends to help us move furniture. Our old apartment is now empty and ready for deep cleaning, and our new apartment is full of boxes and dismantled bookshelves. Today is my day off, so I have spent the entire day scrubbing out cupboards and washing baseboards. Our move out day is this Friday.

image

Things are chaos. So naturally I volunteered to bring dessert to our Tuesday Bible study. 🙂

Monday night I took out the prewashed and chopped rhubarb and strawberries from our freezer and set the oven to 375°F. I have been obsessed with making strawberry rhubarb pie lately, and have been trying to perfect an AIP version. My great grandmother made the best strawberry rhubarb pie I have ever tasted, and I have many fond memories of helping her chop up freshly picked rhubarb. My recipe is quick and easy, especially with the pre chopped fruit, so it was the perfect solution to my busy Monday night.

I made two pies because I wanted seconds and I figured everyone else would too!

image

The filling is just fruit, arrowroot powder to thicken it, and a hint of maple syrup to sweeten it.

image

The crust is a simple mixture of coconut oil, coconut flour, cinnamon, salt, and maple syrup. I was surprised by how buttery it tasted. Just like my great gram’s. 🙂

image

I suppose this is more of a crisp than a pie because the crust is just on the top. I’m sure you could mold the dough in the pie pan, bake it for a while, and then add the filling and the topping and bake to perfection. I’ve never done that because it’s more work and I’m impatient.

image

image

I have a confession to make. Because everything was so chaotic with our move, I forgot to add the arrowroot powder to these pies! Instead of having the consistency of pie, they were more like strawberry rhubarb goop. They were still delicious though! And everybody on Tuesday night had seconds!

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

For the filling:
2 cups chopped rhubarb
1½ cups chopped strawberries
¼ cup maple syrup (or less depending on how tart you like your pie.)
3 tablespoons arrowroot powder

For the crust:
¼ cup coconut oil
½ cup coconut flour
1 tablespoons cinnamon
1 tablespoon maple syrup
2 teaspoons salt

Add all the stuff for the filling to your pie dish and mix it together. In a sperate bowl, mix the ingredients for the crust with a fork. The goal is to make a crumbly dough. Place drops of your dough on top of your pie filling. Bake at 375°F for about 40 minutes. Serve warm!

Leave a Reply

