Baked Plantain Pancakes (AIP)

My husband is determined to create an AIP pancake for me. We’ve tried a few different recipes from various AIP bloggers, but most of them call for hard to get or expensive flours (tigernut or cricket flour anyone?). There was a tasty recipe that used green plantains and pumpkin as a base, but upon devouring two or three delicious pancakes, I felt very sick and spent the remainder of the evening in the bathroom. We figured it was just too much fiber for my poor digestive system to handle. Since then Josh has researched binding agents, egg substitutes, flours, gelatins, and thickening agents in search of the perfect AIP pancake.

Now, from all his determination to make me a pancake, you might deduce that pancakes are one of my favorite foods and I’ve been missing them terribly. Nope. Not really. Waffles are one of my favorites, but I’ve resigned myself to being waffle-less until I can successfully reintroduce eggs. (Every AIP waffle recipe I’ve tried sticks terribly to the waffle iron and it really isn’t worth it to me to clean the iron vigorously between each waffle.)  The lack of pancakes and waffles doesn’t really bother me, but for some reason it really bothers Josh. Not sure why, but I let him experiment with different batters and recipes because, well, it’s so darn sweet that he cares so much!

How ironic that on the night he is out, I decide to use up some overly ripe plantains and hit upon a very satisfactory pancake recipe! He will be disappointed I didn’t wait to experiment with him around!

image

Baked Plantain Pancakes
3 ripe plantains (entirely black)
3 tablespoons cinnamon
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/3 cup arrowroot flower
1 tablespoon vanilla
2 tablespoons baking soda
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

Mash the plantains in a mixing bowl and add the remaining ingredients. When thoroughly mixed together, scoop pancake sized portions onto a baking sheet and flatten with your spoon. Bake at 350 F for 12-15 minutes.

image

These came out a little chewy instead of light and fluffy, but they are incredibly good nonetheless. Josh will probably use the chewy texture as an excuse to keep experimenting until he create a fluffy pancake, but for now I am completely content to eat these drizzled in a small amount of pure maple syrup and some sliced strawberries.

Leave a Reply

