Easter Abundance

Easter has become my favorite holiday. We go through the period of Lent, a time of fasting and preparing our hearts for the journey to the cross. We arrive at Palm Sunday, where we welcome a king into our city. We journey through holy week, where we reject, scorn, mock, abuse, and finally crucify this king. We mourn at his tomb. And finally, we joyously celebrate his triumph over death on Sunday morning, knowing this King is the Son of God, our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. It’s a very intense time, and God always speaks to my heart in various ways, be it through a church service or a scripture passage or a conversation with a friend. This year God has been teaching me about His abundance.

cross

Since starting the AIP lifestyle, I have made all my own food and taken it to various social events, packed lunches for work, always kept a snack in my purse. If I wanted or needed food, I was going to have to provide it. I never knew if other people or places would have anything I could eat. This situation caused me to live out of a place of scarcity.

The lies started to shape my thoughts and actions.
God’s abundance is non-existent. I can’t share my food with others, there is only enough for me.
I can not rely on God’s abundance. I have to provide my own food.
God’s abundance is for others, but not for me. I get the weird food that isn’t good enough for other people. (One person has told me “I don’t like dried out gluten free crap” in response to my offering him one of my AIP cookies.)

These lies have always been present in my life, taking various forms. This diet has brought them to the surface, forcing me to bring them out of the darkness and call them by name. But God, in His mercy, has not left me to deal with my unbelief and insecurities by myself. All throughout Lent He has been drawing me to Himself, and Holy week was the culmination of His work. A service of light and darkness on Wednesday reminded me that darkness cannot overcome Christ’s Light. Maundy Thursday was a service of foot washing, reminding me that I am loved by people, and God’s love shows through them to me. On Good Friday we left our sins at the foot of the cross, knowing Christ has the strength and power to take them and set us free. And Saturday, we gathered at 11pm for a candlelight vigil to bring in the resurrection of our LORD from the dead. When midnight came, we celebrated with light and singing, declaring God’s glory for everyone. Everyone. His abundance knows no bounds. And we lived that out by feasting.

And when I say feasting, I mean FEASTING. Everybody went all out. Since Saturday’s service started at 11pm, most of us spent the entire day in the kitchen, preparing food for the feast. I decided that instead of just bringing enough AIP food for myself, I would make enough to share with the entire congregation. I wanted to combat the lies I have lived in for too long.

God’s abundance is real in my dietary restrictions. I made enough of an AIP main dish, two side dishes, and two desserts to have more than enough to go around.
God’s abundance is reliableThere was enough AIP food not only for the first midnight feast, but also for our second Easter Sunday feast after church in the morning. Also, several people in my church consciously brought AIP friendly food.
God’s abundance encompasses even me. I had several people come up and tell me how good my food was, and a few people in our congregation thanked me for bringing a gluten free option.

With everybody preparing so much food, we had enough for two feasts and leftovers! I LOVED making so much food for people! The excitement of sharing my dishes overcame all the overwhelming feelings I usually get when I have to cook everything from scratch. A great burden had lifted from my shoulders – the burden of scarcity and feeling forgotten. It was replaced by the joy of abundance and inclusion! I want to share this abundance with you in the form of these wonderful recipes.

Main Dish

Leg of Lamb
Leg of lamb
Red wine, 2 cups
Olive oil, 1 cup
Bone broth, 2 cups
Salt, 1/4 cup
Green onion, 1 cup finely chopped
Garlic, 5 cloves
Fresh parsley, 1/3 cup finely chopped

Combine everything into a crock-pot and cook on low all day! When we tried to cut the lamb, it fell apart! It was so tender and juicy and almost melted in your mouth!

Side Dishes

Bacon Wrapped Asparagus
bacon wrapped asparagus
Asparagus
Bacon

Wrap two or three asparagus spears in one strip of bacon. Place on a baking tray and bake at 400°F for 20 minutes.
My good friend also brought bacon wrapped asparagus. Apparently we love our bacon. 😉 He put garlic, salt, and pepper on his, which looked very good. Next time I’m going to add garlic and omit the AIP unfriendly pepper.

Breadsticks

Forgive the odd lighting, I wrapped them in saran wrap before taking them to church.

Forgive the odd lighting, I wrapped them in saran wrap before taking them to church.


http://www.thepaleomom.com/2014/10/guest-post-breanna-emmitt-garlic-rosemary-breadsticks-autoimmune-protocol-friendly.html

Desserts

Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Maple Frosting

carrot cake cupcakes
http://sweetpotatoesandsocialchange.com/carrot-cake-cupcakes-with-creamy-maple-frosting-aippaleo/

Coconut Cream Pie
cocnut cream pie

http://hewontknowitspaleo.com/aip-coconut-cream-pie-the-starch-free-version/

I am overwhelmed by God’s abundance and mercy this Easter. What a glorious thing, living in the Light of our resurrected Lord! Casting out sin and darkness and the lies of the devil, trusting in the One who is victorious over death!
Easter Lily

Alleluia, Christ is risen! Alleluia, Alleluia, Alleluia!

Leave a Reply

