Salmon Wraps (AIP)

One thing I’ve missed since eating AIP is tuna salad sandwiches. It seems like such a little kid thing, but I suppose that’s why they are a comfort food to me. Salty tuna, creamy mayo, add some celery and apples for crunch or maybe a pickle, and spread it on that lovely store bought white bread for lunch. Once I tried to make AIP mayonnaise out of coconut butter, but the result was not even close and I have resigned myself to never having this comfort food again.

Until now.

Introducing the amazing AIP salmon wrap!

image

The missing piece to my puzzle turned out to be plantain wraps, not mayonnaise. This recipe doesn’t even have a mayo substitute in it, although I’m sure you could experiment with different AIP”cream” sauces or a No’mato sauce. However, I found these to be extremely satisfying and would have eaten twice as much if I had made more wraps! My husband says the only thing that would improve this recipe is bacon, but don’t we all agree that bacon makes everything better?

Salmon Wraps
2 cans of salmon
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons dill (either fresh or dried, I used dried and it was great but fresh will give everything a little more kick!)
1 tablespoon sea salt
2 teaspoons lemon juice
1/4 cup finely chopped leek
1 small head of lettuce
1 small apple, chopped into little cubes
Plantain wraps (see recipe below)

Heat the oil in a cast iron skillet, and add the salmon, leeks, lemon juice, dill, and salt. Mix well and stir occasionally until everything is hot.

Wash the lettuce head and tear the leaves into small bite sizes.

Pile everything onto your plantation wrap and add the chopped apples for some sweet crunchy pizzaz.

Enjoy!

Plantain Wraps
2 green plantains
2/3 cup water
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
2 teaspoons salt

Throw everything into your food processor and blend until smooth. On a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, spread the mixture out until it is 1/8 inch thick. Bake at 375°F for 30 minutes. Let it cool on a cooling rack and use a kitchen shears to cut into several wraps, whatever size you prefer. This recipe makes 5 hearty sized wraps for me, and I think they taste better than flour or corn tortillas They also don’t tear or get flimsy, which always used to annoy me with corn tortillas.

Leave a Reply

