Pork Sausage… with Chicken Liver! (AIP)

Part of healing includes eating the right food, not just avoiding the wrong food. One of the best things to include in your diet is offal, and yet so often we overlook the many nutrients found in unusual cuts of meat. This is for various reasons, maybe we are scared to try new things, we’ve never thought about eating tongue or heart before, or maybe we simply don’t like the taste. For me, taste is the issue. I haven’t gotten used to liver, no matter how many times I’ve cooked it for breakfast or dinner. I’ve even pan seared it with bacon grease, added mushrooms, garlic, onions and more bacon, and not enjoyed the taste. I think it’s the somewhat mushy texture. But none of this changes the fact that liver is incredibly nutrient dense and i should be eating it! So I decided to do something different. I bought a tub of chicken livers, which have a milder taste than beef, and added them to the pork sausage I make for breakfast. The result? Brilliant. Nutrient dense sausage patties, pre-made and ready to go on busy mornings.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I used a food processor to combine my pork and chicken liver, and added the spices when the meat was thoroughly mixed. This resulted in a meaty “goop,” which I was skeptical of at first, but it made nice patties that taste great. I just had to spoon the mixture on to my skillet and flatten them with the back of my spatula to form a patty shape.

Chicken Liver Pork Sausage
1 lb ground pork
.75 lbs chicken liver
1 tablespoon salt
3/4 tablespoon rubbed sage
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1/2 teaspoon marjoram
1/2 teaspoon ground mace
3 cloves garlic, chopped

Throw it all into your food processor and mix until smooth. Heat a large skillet on medium-low and spoon the meat into it, forming little round patties. I made mine a little larger than a dollar coin piece, but I expect you could make them as big or small as you would like. Fry the patties, flipping them once. You can check if they are done by cutting into them. If the middle is still pink, keep frying.

Let them cool before storing them either in the fridge or freezer. This recipe makes enough for 2 weeks worth of breakfasts for me, or a little over a week if my husband decides to have some too.

Leave a Reply

