Plantain chips (AIP)

When I started eating AIP, I looked all around for some easy snack ideas to keep in my purse. As my body adjusted to running mainly on proteins instead of carbs, I was hungry all the time. If I didn’t eat, I’d feel very faint, so I started taking food with me everywhere, just in case my body needed extra fuel. One of my favorite snacks is a bag of Inka Chips – plantains baked in palm oil with sea salt. They are delightfully addictive! One day, as I finished off another bag, I looked at the short ingredient list and thought “I bet I could make these!” One green plantain and 40 minutes later I was munching my own chips, pleased with the results.
I’m also pleased with the cost! Plantains run about 59¢ each where I live, and one large green plantain will make the same amount of chips as an Inka Chip bag, which costs me $1.29 at my local health store. That’s under half the price for a snacking staple.
Here is how to make your own baked plantain chips.

Baked Plantain Chips
1 green plantain
2 tablespoons coconut oil (I bet you could use palm oil or olive oil, but I haven’t tried that yet)
Salt to taste

Peel the plantain and slice it so you have very thin circles.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The thinner they are, the better your chips will turn out, in my opinion.
Put them in a bowl and coat them with coconut oil. Next, set a metal cooling rack on top of a baking pan. Place the plantain slices on the cooling rack and salt them.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Place the whole thing in the oven for about 40 minutes at 325°F.
Be careful taking them out, and let them cool before putting them into zip lock bags to take with you as a healthy snack!

Leave a Reply

